Read Aloud Wednesday– ‘A Dog is a Dog’ by Stephen Shaskan

Sometimes you want a quick and fun read with your kids. And this month’s suggestion is one of my favorites. This month’s Read Aloud Wednesday Book Recommendation is A Dog Is A Dog by Stephen Shaskan.

A Dog is a Dog
In the tradition of Dr. Seuss, Stephen Shaskan has written a delightful story for you and your preschooler, toddler, and even young elementary kiddos.


A Dog is a DogUnlike some Dr. Seuss and more like Sandra Boynton, the text is not one that will trip you up.


A Dog is a DogIn the spirit of the great cartoon illustrators, Stephen has created colorful pictures and goofy ideas for every reader to enjoy.


A Dog is a Dog

Personally, I love the progression of animals he leads you through.


This book will take you about three minutes to read out loud, but it’s catchy. You will find yourself memorizing it before you know it. Or making up your own rhymes to your own story.

That would be a great family project to do with this story. Pick four animals, write your own poem and illustrate it.

Where to find A Dog is a Dog
Local bookshops

Family Fun Twin Cities Amazon Shop

More About Stephen Shaskan


This post contains an Amazon affiliate links. Family Fun Twin Cities receives a small commission on any sales through our site

This article was originally published by Gianna Kordatzky in October of 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

© 2020 Family Fun Twin Cities LLC. All Rights Reserved. PO Box 120034 New Brighton, MN 55112, USA