Read Aloud Wednesday– ‘A Dog is a Dog’ by Stephen Shaskan October 2015


Sometimes you want a quick and fun read with your kids. And this month’s suggestion is one of my favorites.  This month’s Read Aloud Wednesday Book Recommendation is  A Dog Is A Dog by Stephen Shaskan.

Read Aloud Wednesday - A Dog is a Dog

A Dog is a Dog
In the tradition of Dr. Seuss, Stephen Shaskan has written a delightful story for you and your preschooler, toddler, and even young elementary kiddos.

 

 

 

 

A Dog is a Dog

 

 

 

Unlike some Dr. Seuss and more like Sandra Boynton, the text is not one that will trip you up.

A Dog is a Dog

 

In the spirit of the great cartoon illustrators, Stephen has created colorful pictures and goofy ideas for every reader to enjoy.

 

 

 

A Dog is a Dog

 

Personally, I love the progression of animals he leads you through.

 

 

 

 

This book will take you about three minutes to read out loud, but it’s catchy.  You will find yourself memorizing it before you know it.  Or making up your own rhymes to your own story.

That would be a great family project to do with this story.  Pick four animals, write your own poem and illustrate it.

Meet Stephen Shaskan

Minnesota Society of Children’s Book Author and Illustrators Book Signing
Tuesday, November 3, 7 p.m.-8 p.m.
Red Balloon Bookshop
FREE


Mouse symbolThis post contains affiliate links.  More information in the footer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

© 2019 Family Fun Twin Cities LLC. All Rights Reserved. PO Box 120034 New Brighton, MN 55112, USA