Read Aloud Wednesday– ‘A Dog is a Dog’ by Stephen Shaskan October 2015

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

Family Fun at Home

Sometimes you want a quick and fun read with your kids. And this month’s suggestion is one of my favorites.  This month’s Read Aloud Wednesday Book Recommendation is  A Dog Is A Dog by Stephen Shaskan.




Read Aloud Wednesday
In the tradition of Dr. Seuss, Stephen Shaskan has written a delightful story for you and your preschooler, toddler, and even young elementary kiddos.





Read Aloud Wednesday




Unlike some Dr. Seuss and more like Sandra Boynton, the text is not one that will trip you up.

Read Aloud Wednesday


In the spirit of the great cartoon illustrators, Stephen has created colorful pictures and goofy ideas for every reader to enjoy.




Read Aloud Wednesday


Personally, I love the progression of animals he leads you through.





This book will take you about three minutes to read out loud, but it’s catchy.  You will find yourself memorizing it before you know it.  Or making up your own rhymes to your own story.

That would be a great family project to do with this story.  Pick four animals, write your own poem and illustrate it.

Meet Stephen Shaskan

Minnesota Society of Children’s Book Author and Illustrators Book Signing
Tuesday, November 3, 7 p.m.-8 p.m.
Red Balloon Bookshop

Mouse symbolThis post contains affiliate links.  More information in the footer.
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

About the author

Gianna Kordatzky

I am married to the craziest, most awesome man I know. We have four kids--Ranging in ages from 5-10. You can learn more about my life as a mother and wife at .

I love to throw parties and be with friends. I love to read my Bible and grow closer to God. I love to eat and exercise. I have learned to love coffee.
And I could really use a nap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

© 2016 Family Fun Twin Cities LLC. All Rights Reserved. 1786 Carroll Ave, Saint Paul, MN, 55104, USA

Read previous post:
We Can Give Back Month is Almost HERE! And Announcing The Great Give Back Challenge

      November is around the corner which means "We Can Give Back Month" is almost here!  Woohoo!